Michigan Auto Insurance and Michigan Graduated Licensing Laws (GDL)

Anyone moving t o move to Michigan State, looking to procure a driver's license in Michigan or buying Michigan auto insurance needs to be aware of some of the special regulations that prevail in Michigan State. Most of these special regulations are actually variations on the auto insurance regulations that exist in other states. One of these is the Graduated Licensing Laws or GDL that exist in Michigan State.


What is Graduated Licensing or Graduated Driver Licensing?


Graduated driver licensing is a system or a set of systems that have been formulated #to aid new drivers with skills in a graduated or phased manner. Drivers under the Graduated Driver Licensing scheme pass through three phases. In the first phase, they get a learner's permit. In the second phase, they achieve a probationary or a provisional license and in the third phase, they earn themselves a full fledged driver's license. Graduated driver licensing schemes usually prohibit night time, unsupervised and expressway driving in the early phases.


What are the Michigan Graduated Licensing Laws?


The minimum entry age for graduated licensing in Michigan State is 14 years and 9 months. To complete the requirements for Phase I and move on to Level 2, a teenager needs to have taken 24 class hours, spent 4 hours behind the wheel and passed the written exam. Further, the teen needs to have cleared a vision test and have procured the written approval of parents. In Level 1, the teen can drive only with parents or with a designated adult aged at least 21 years. In Level 2, the teen needs to get 50 hours of driving practice and 90 days of driving without any violations or accidents. Night time driving restrictions are still enforced in this level. In Level 3, the teen must be at least 17 and must have held a Level 2 license for at least 6 months. At the end of Level 3, the driver can get a formal driver's license.